How to Get a License Plate For Your Trailer In Arkansas
Trailers are vehicles, which means they need to be registered. This allows you to put a license plate on the trailer, which in turn allows it to be identified if necessary.
Below, you’ll learn everything you need to know about getting a license plate for your trailer in Arkansas: the process for getting it registered initially, what to do if the information you used for the registration changes, and more.
How Do You Register Your Trailer?
There are two different ways to register your trailers in Arkansas: by mail or in person. Depending on what county you live in, you’ll need to contact either your revenue collector or your Director of the Department of Finance and Administration.
You need to register your trailer within 30 days of purchase. Failure to do so will result in a fine.
Do You Need to Title Your Trailer?
No. Although you’ll need to register your trailer, Arkansas only requires titles for motorized vehicles.
Renewing the Registration for Your Arkansas Trailer
No less than 30 days before your license is due to expire, you’ll receive a letter stating that you need to renew your registration. Failure to do so will result in a fine.
Changing Your Address
If you move to a new area, you’ll need to update the registration for all of your vehicles: this includes trailers. To do so, you need to contact the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration. Not doing so is a misdemeanor and may result in you missing notification of your next registration renewal date.
Penalties for Not Properly Registering Your Trailer
Your trailer needs to clearly display its proof of registration. Often this will be a permanent license plate, but it can also be a tab, decal, or registration card. If you choose to place a registration card on your trailer, you need to check with the Department of Finance & Administration to determine where the card can legally be placed.
Transferring Registration to Another Trailer
You can’t transfer a registration from one trailer to another. As well, a registration cannot be transferred from one owner to another. Instead, any items used to identify the trailer’s registration (i.e. license plate, decal, tab, or card) must be sent or delivered to The Department of Finance and Administration.
Once that has been done, you’ll need to get a new registration for any trailer you purchase, and anyone who has bought your trailer will need to go through the registration process.
Want to Buy a Trailer in Arkansas?
Of course, before you can get a license plate for your trailer, you need to buy one. Silver Moon Trailers is the Arkansas trailer's dealership of choice. We offer a variety of trailer and trailer accessories that are designed to ensure you’re able to safely transport goods and vehicles.
Have any questions about the trailers we have available? You can look through the listings on our site or call us at 870.330. You can also visit us in-person at:
1802 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
Jonesboro, Arkansas 72401